Water Commission

Board Members

Leonora Jenkins
Position: Vice-Chairman
Phone: (781) 383-0024
Position Type: Elected
Term: 3 Years
Expires: May 31, 2018

Rolf Gjesteby
Position: Chairman
Position Type: Elected
Term: 3 Years
Expires: May 31, 2017

John Steinmetz
Position: Clerk
Position Type: Elected
Term: 3 Years
Expires: May 31, 2019


Meeting Schedule: Dates will be Announced
Meeting Time: 10:00 am
Location: Water Department
Address: Water Department, 339 King Street, Cohasset

Contact Information:

The Water Commission may be contacted by phone at (781) 383-0057


News and Announcements:




The Water Commission:


The Water Department is under the elected Board of Water Commissioners which consists of three members, one elected each year, who serve a three year term.  The Water Commissioners have exclusive charge and control of the municipal Water Department and water system subject to Federal and State laws and bylaws. 



Description and Mission of the Cohasset Water Department:


 Click Here for the Water Department's Page


The Cohasset Water Department provides public drinking water to about 7,000 Cohasset residents with about 2,600 connections, 38 miles of water mains, 750 valves, and 400 hydrants.  The Water Department provides water for about 90% of Cohasset (the other 10% receive water services from Aquarion Water Company) and it also provides and maintains a reliable water system for Cohasset's Firefighters. 


Cohasset's drinking and useable water comes from two surface water supplies which are Lily Pond, and Aaron River Reservoir.  Lily Pond has a maximum capacity of about 100 million gallons of water which spans over a 52 acre area.  The other source, Aaron River Reservoir, has a maximum capacity of 550 million gallons of water over a 136 acre area.  Aaron River is connected to Lily Pond and it is used to supplement Lily Pond in times of high water demand.